sharphost.blogg.se

Kanye 808s and heartbreak png
Kanye 808s and heartbreak png









kanye 808s and heartbreak png kanye 808s and heartbreak png

I kept listening to the album and it just kept affecting me and I was like, what the fuck what’s going on? I get a call from out of nowhere. I started listening to that song 'Paranoid.' Then I started getting paranoid about weird shit. I took off my headphones after 'Pinocchio Story' and I’m just like kind of emotional. I wanted to get the actual gist of the album 'cause when you’re at a concert you can’t really tell some of the shit that’s going on, you kinda just get in the vibe.

kanye 808s and heartbreak png

"That night I decided to really listen to 808s. Concert about an 8 and a half out of 10 'cause I felt it wasn’t him being lazy, but I thought for the money twelve songs is a bit ridiculous." Well, night more like 10 out of 10, honestly. I put on some slow music, nice chill PND type of stuff, 'Pray For Love.' Night: 9 out of 10. Food was great, we’re all enjoying ourselves, obviously I paid for it. "W e go to Fat Sal’s, have these bomb-ass gyros. T he last song was 'Pinocchio Story.' At this point the concert was about an hour and ten minutes, and since he's a solo artist I would expect him to do more music, but it was over. I thought he might go back to the old 808s theme with those sunglasses, how he dressed. But the thing was that he did it in the Yeezus theme,  like the really interesting clothing, people dressed certain was very interesting. I didn’t expect that, I thought he was gonna perform the album and then perform some bangers. He starts off with 'Say You Will.' He did the album in order. I paid for it, of course, cause I’m a fuckin' gentleman. We get fries, share a big lemonade, and she was trying to pull her money out. After Coachella we started talking a little bit more and hanging out.That night the Uber comes, has an aux cord, we’re bumping Travi$ Scott's Rodeo. We get to the concert, walk up to the venue-it’s kind of like in the hills a little bit, it’s kind of hidden. "I used to date when I was a little younger. Back then I think gangsta rap was still popular, right? Not that it isn’t popular now, but that was more the norm for rap. Nobody was doing the shit that he did on that album. A lot of people either really loved it or they hated it. You know 808s was kind of ahead of its time. Then the other stuff I kinda dabbled through. I liked them, but, you know, at that point it was mostly the songs that you could jam to. "I was a very jumpy kid when I was little, so of course I was fuckin' with 'Heartless,' 'Love Lockdown.' I liked 'Paranoid,' I liked the beat. It was different, his whole style changed, for that album. I think he broke off his engagement and his mom died, right? I was pretty aware back then that it was very big what Kanye was doing. My first interaction with Kanye was Late Registration, I think. It wasn’t the typical Kanye West album at the time. 'Heartless' of course. I liked the album back then ’cause it was a bit different. Apparently, 808s is relevant to all generations.Īs told to Frazier Tharpe WELCOME TO HEARTBREAK I had to hop on the phone to get this tale firsthand. Instead, he told me the girl he took as a date to the show "broke his heart" the day after they went, thus making him appreciate in a new light what's heralded as the breakup album of our time. When he hit me talking about Kanye's 808s & Heartbreak show at the Hollywood Bowl, I pressed him for details since info and video from the show was strangely scarce.

kanye 808s and heartbreak png

Since that party the little homie frequently texts me to talk all things rap. Next thing you know we’re debating Yeezus versus Born Sinner while his dad is shooting the shit with my dad. Nick came up to me thinking I was an actor who played one of Chris Rock’s kids. In 2013, I, along with my friend and my dad, attended the afterparty for Grown Ups 2, which was exponentially more lit than the film (obviously). To glean a little insight I decided to interview a teenager about an album that has been in conversation lately and is considered a seminal work of art, Kanye West’s 808s & Heartbreak.įirst, a little backstory as to how I know this teenager, Nick Turturro (as in son of actor Nicholas Turturro, Jr, nephew of John). What are teens into these days? The only thing more interesting than figuring out what the new generation thinks is lit is discovering what it thinks of art that was very relevant to your generation.











Kanye 808s and heartbreak png